Ministry of Local Government, Housing, Environment, Infrastructure & Transport

Ministry of Local Government, Housing, Environment, Infrastructure & Transport

Mr Parveen Kumar

Minister for Local Government, Housing and Environment

The work of the Ministry of Local Government, Housing & Environment are focused on legislative reviews, urban planning and managing the impacts of rapid urbanisation, municipal reforms, fire protection and disaster management, and control and regulation of land use. The main focus of the activities is to develop and implement the government's local government and town and country planning legislations, policies and programmes.

Department of Local Government manage the development of Fiji's twelve (12) municipal local governments through the local government Act (Cap.125).

Department of Town and Country Planning control and regulate the appropriate use of land in Fiji through the Town Planning Act (Cap.139) and Subdivision of Land Act (Cap.140).

National Fire Authority - Established under the National Fire Services Act, 1994 came into being on 1/2/95. The NFA main priority is the improvement of its services through the procurement of new fire fighting equipment, upgrading of firemen skills and establishment of volunteer fire brigades.

Squatter Ressettlement Unit - will undertake squatter upgrading projects in the following areas: Jittu Estate, Wailea, Lakena No. 1 & 2, Navutu, Cuvu, Clopcott Street, Waidra.

Permanent Secretary for Local Government, Housing & Environment: Joshua Wycliffe

Office Location:
2nd Flr, Fiji FA House, Gladstone Rd, Suva.

Postal Address:
PO Box 2131, Government Buildings, Suva, Fiji.

Phone: (679) 3304364
Fax: (679) 3303515

The Ministry of Transport specifically looks after the management of policy, administration and regulatory activities of all modes of transport. The main goal of the Ministry is to “provide an integrated transport system that is safe, efficient, affordable, accessible to all and environmentally sustainable”.

The Ministry of Transport amalgamates six (6) portfolios and these are: -

Transport Planning Unit
The Transport Planning Unit (TPU) was established as a means to strengthen the capability of Government to better co-ordinate transport planning and monitor policy and developments in the transport sector and advice, strategic planning and co-ordination and investment programming assistance and the overall direction of its activities is guided by inputs from external reference groups comprising representatives of key stakeholders in the transport sector, primarily through National Transport Coordinating Committee (NTCC) and National Transport Consultative Forum (NTCF).

Office Location: Level 2, Neptune House, Walu Bay
Postal Address: Private Mail Bag, Suva, Fiji
Phone: (679) 3316876
Fax: (679) 3307839

Land Transport Division (LTD)
The Land Transport Division is primarily responsible for reviewing the Land Transport Act and the National Road Safety Act and to formulate corresponding regulations to enable the efficient performance of the Land Transport Authority and the National Road Safety Council. The Unit also plays an advisory role to the Minister on Land Transport Policy related matters.

Office Location: Level 3, Neptune House, Walu Bay
Postal Address: Private Mail Bag, Suva, Fiji
Phone: (679) 3316866
Fax: (679) 3316879

Fiji Islands Maritime Safety Administration (FIMSA)
The Department is responsible for all maritime matters within the waters of the Fiji Islands. It monitors international shipping within these waters and regulates inter-island shipping services in accordance with the requirements of the Marine Act 1986 and subsidiary Regulations. The Marine Act is based on International Maritime Organization (IMO) Conventions, and encompasses technical legislation(s). Regulations have been introduced under the provisions of the Marine Act.

Office Location: Motibhai Building, Amra Street, Walu Bay
Postal Address: P O Box 326, Suva, Fiji
Phone: (679) 3315266 Fax: (679) 3303251

Government Shipping Services (GSS)
The Department’s overall function is to promote and facilitate, in accordance with government policies and priorities, the national need of sea transportation. This is through the provision of shipping and marine navigational aids services, meeting Fiji’s obligation to international maritime conventions and the maritime community. In recognition of the inter-relationships between sea transportation and the wider economy, these services play an important role in the development of the urban, islands and coastal economies on a sustainable basis aimed at maximizing the contribution of the respective sectors to the national economy, thereby improving the standards of living of all people throughout Fiji.

Office Location: Level 1, Neptune House, Walu Bay
Postal Address: P O Box 2603, Government Buildings, Suva, Fiji
Phone: (679) 3314322
Fax: (679) 3312614

Fiji Meteorological Services (FMS)
The Department of Meteorological Services is responsible for providing weather forecasting service for Fiji and most other Pacific Island States, marine and cyclone warning services on a wider regional scale, and aviation forecasting for the Nadi Flight Information Region (FIR). It also monitors Fiji’s climate, and provides information and advice on weather and climate of the nation, being a leading Meteorological Services among the Pacific Islands States, it has an increasing role to play in regional weather and climate matters, It hosts the Regional Specialised Meteorological Centre (RSMC) for Tropic Cyclones under the World Weather Watch (WWW) programmes of the World Meteorological organisation.

Office Location: Korowai Road, Namaka, Nadi
Postal Address: Private Mail Bag, Nadi Airport, Nadi, Fiji
Phone: (679) 6724888
Fax: (679) 6720430

Civil Aviation Department (CAD)
The Department of Civil Aviation is responsible for the economic regulation and control of civil aviation in Fiji. Its role is to formulate policies for the growth of efficient and effective international air services, establish international air services agreement with other countries to promote trade and tourism to develop and maintain domestic airports for the travelling public, to develop effective new generation civil aviation infrastructure and strengthen aviation security so as to meet Fiji’s obligations to the International Civil Organization (ICAO) of which it is a member.

Office Location: Level 2, Neptune House, Walu Bay
Postal Address: Private Mail Bag, Suva
Phone: 3316866
Fax: 3315477

The Ministry for Works carries out the following broad functions:

provision of advice, technical services, planning, design and construction of works projects for other Government Departments and Agencies;
management of works and maintenance programmes associated with public buildings, roads bridges, airfields, jetties, water supplies, sewerage and rural electricity; and
maintenance and operation of facilities owned by the Government.

Public Buildings - carry out routine and urgent maintenance and rehabilitation and upgrading works to all public buildings owned by Government.

Mechanical Services - to all government departments, including operation and maintenance activities of the Plant Pool, supply of fuel and oil, maintenance of hospital boilers and air condition and elevator services.

Permanent Secretary for Works and Transport: Mr Paul Bayly

Office Location:
Nasilivata House, Samabula, Suva.

Postal Address:
PO Box 2493, Government Buildings, Suva, Fiji.
Phone: (679) 3384111
Fax: (679) 3383198


Office Location: Level 2 Neptune House, Walu Bay.
Postal Address: Private Mail Bag, Suva, Fiji.
Phone: (679) 3316866
Fax: (679) 3315477