Savusavu Town was officially declared a Tobacco Smoke Free Zone at ceremony held this morning to commemorate this new development.

The Minister for Health Dr Neil Sharma officiated at today’s event which prohibits the use of tobacco in public spaces. He was joined at today’s event by the visiting World Health Organization's (WHO) Western Pacific Region Director, Dr Shin Young Soo, and Labasa/ Savusavu Special Administrator Vijay Chand officially declared it in Friday.

The WHO Regional Director Dr Shin congratulated the efforts and measures put in place by the Fijian government through the health ministry to control tobacco use. He added that engaging with town councils to implement these measures would ultimately save lives.

“All stakeholders must be encouraged to take part in such initiatives as it will be successful”, Dr Soo said.

The Health Minister said new initiatives implemented by Government are aimed at reducing smoking and to control tobacco use. He said that new measures like the Tobacco Smoke Free Zones are designed to discourage and prevent smoking habits.

Today’s event also provided an opportunity for Dr Soo to tour existing health facilities in Savusavu.